Tattoo Laws in Texas
A person must be at least 18 (Eighteen) years of age and have valid proof.
Valid proof being: a) State issued Drivers License or ID
c) Original or Certified Copy Birth Certificate with
some form of a Photo ID as to proof of ownership.
d) Military ID
e) Consulate Card
Piercing Laws in Texas
Any age can be pierced in Texas. If the individual is 18 years of age or older the laws are the same as Tattooing.
If the individual is UNDER 18 years of age; the following must apply:
a) If the Minor is Emancipated, you must bring in the Emancipation papers with a government issued ID. (State Issued ID, Drivers License, Passport, Consulate Card or Military ID)
b) It the Minor is married: Must bring the marriage License with a government issued ID. (State Issued ID, Drivers License, Passport, Consulate Card or Military ID)
c) Must have Original or Certified Copy of their Birth Certificate (NO Photocopies), Photo ID (Such as State ID, Drivers License, Military ID, School ID or Yearbook) and one of the parents listed on the Birth Certificate with a State issued ID, Drivers License, Passport, Military ID or Consulate Card. The Parent must be present at the time of piercing.
d) Notarized letter stating the individual is guardian of the individual being pierced with what location is to be pierced. The letter must also include: the minors full name, date of birth, a copy of the guardians State issued ID, Drivers License, Military ID, Passport or Consulate Card. The minor must have have an ID such as a State or School ID, Yearbook, Consulate Card or Passport. The Guardian must be present at the time of piercing.
e) If it is a Step Parent requesting the piercing, the Step parent must also bring a marriage license to prove they are married to one of the individuals listed on the birth certificate and the items listed in c).
If you have any questions, please contact us at Creative Tattoo & Piercing.